Mint Profile

The Royal Australian Mint is Australia’s national mint and sole producer of circulating coins for Australia. It is a prescribed agency within the Commonwealth Government portfolio of the treasury.
The Mint was officially opened in Canberra in 1965. Its first tasks were to produce distinctively Australian coinage and facilitate a smooth changeover from British imperial pounds, shillings and pence to Australia’s own decimal dollars and cents. Today, the Mint also produces circulating coins for other countries, and manufactures a vast array of collector coins, investment products, medals and medallions for domestic and international clients. As a world-class mint of 56 years’ standing, the Mint has been recognised as an industry leader in quality, technology and innovation.

Royal Australian Mint